Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Wisdom's Seven Pillars – Pillar #2 Peace

"Wisdom has built her house, she has carved out her seven pillars:" Proverbs 9:1. The aim of this series is to present a non-cliche, non-religious point of view of wisdom. I do subscribe to some religious interpretations of the subjects addressed, but wish to here, only point out the common understanding of the principles.  



If you want to make peace with your enemy, you have to work with your enemy. Then he becomes your partner.”
- Nelson Mandela


"If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten we belong to each other"


Pillar #2 Peace 

Wisdom will always seek a way to bring peace within myself and with others. Peace with myself always precedes peace with others. It's imperative that I find a place of calmness, centered in myself and quiet in my thoughts, from that haven I influence my relationships. Look for ways to get along with your enemy, your friend, your spouse, and your nation. Haste has no room in this pursuit. Anger will rise tempting me to act impulsively. I must resist every urge to act quickly. Calmness, confidence, and quietness will be the lighthouses that guide me through the dire straights of relationships. Taking a deep breath, calming my emotions and raging thoughts, I find the peace that's born from mother Wisdom.

Saturday, July 19, 2014

Wisdom's Seven Pillars - Pillar #4 Quietness

"Wisdom has built her house, she has carved out her seven pillars:" Proverbs 9:1. The aim of this series is to present a non-cliche, non-religious point of view of wisdom. I do subscribe to some religious interpretations of the subjects addressed, but wish to here, only point out the common understanding of the principles.


 





 “Those who know do not talk. Those who talk do not know. Keep your mouth closed... this therefore is the highest state of man.” - Tao Te Ching 56

“One who will not accept solitude, stillness and quiet recurring moments...is caught up in the wilderness of addictions; far removed from an original state of being and awareness. This is 'dis-ease.”
T.F. Hodge,
From Within I Rise: Spiritual Triumph Over Death and Conscious Encounters with "The Divine Presence"


More harm is done both to reputation and relationships by opening my mouth than any other thing I do. My first inclination should be quietness, calmness, and contemplation of the matter at hand. When I'm offended, hurt, or angry, I must keep my mouth shut, at least initially. Keeping the secrets and confidence placed on me, holding my thoughts and tongue, I protect myself and others. Talking about injustices done to me only keeps the hurt alive and fans the flames of anger. Quietness is a refuge, in contrast expressing my opinion at every turn is never necessary. There are times to express myself, when these conversations are governed by wisdom's pillars. I must show restraint when my heart bursts to speak, when my stomach aches to exact verbal revenge on those who are against me, when my pride wants to tell everything I think I know. Holding my tongue and keeping knowledge and opinions to myself, produces confidence and inspires the same in others around me. In quietness and confidence is my strength.

Monday, July 14, 2014

The Separation of Friends

“A perverse man spreads strife, And a slanderer 
separates intimate friends.”  - Proverbs 16:28

“It is more shameful to distrust our friends than to be deceived by them.”  - Confucius




My mind's intrigued with these fickle people concerned only with the direction of the winds of gossip. They blow this way and that, regardless of the benefit given by an individual. I'm wary of this crowd, of the hearty followers, of the "humble" acquaintances in my life, for those by my side in friendship today are at my throat, without hesitation, tomorrow. All that's required for this shift from friend to foe is discomfort in their lives. Whether financial, physical, or social unrest, it gives them impetus to turn the trust into a sword and cut without mercy. “He deserves it because....” . Whatever the reason they put in this blank, even if it's untrue, becomes the iron that sears their conscience to the thing they do. 

They're masters in this game, the game of turning the opinions of those around me to their benefit. It's no disgrace this art of war, but it bears repeating that I must learn that those close to me, those I help the most, will grow to hate me, only because I have and they have not. Despising that they asked for my help, or owe me something, or just hate that I excel in some way, they desire to quench their responsibility and jealousy by disposing of the one to whom they are so envious or indebted. These master players, soon will be burned by their own hand. It's not long after starting many fires that they will make a mistake and corner themselves with the flames. As for me, I learn to encourage myself, and with this one thing I'll rise above the petty crowd - after all the hate shown towards me, I'll still be good to people and serve my friends and leaders with undying loyalty. 

09262012

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Pleasure Of Pain - An addict's suffering

Addictions that plague our friends, family, and neighbors bring pain, both for the user and those who try in vain to love them in spite of the torturous twists and turns of their habit. To the addict: There are no easy answers, don't stop trying, get back up and keep on fighting.

 “Healey’s First Law Of Holes: When in one, stop digging.”


elements4health

Alone again in a cheap hotel room
The small TV flickering
The nasty images tempting

Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain

Been everywhere, feeling nothing
Trying to recover, going nowhere
On the sticky carpet falling

Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain

Fears from everywhere I hear
Muffled screams from the room next door
The dirty mirror reflecting
Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain

It's all gone, money is low
One more call, one more go
The old a/c is struggling
Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain
 

Collapse, need to get out
Twist and turn from the pain
The phone light is blinking
Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain
 

Sounds exploding out of silence
Flinching in paranoid terror
So lonely, no one's coming
Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain
 

This is fun? (no!) This is exciting? (tears fall)
This is what I live for? (deep sigh)

My future's a pay by week hotel room (God...help me)
Putting my fate in the Pleasure of Pain

12152010

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Just A Look

“Women are like tricks by sleight of hand, 
Which, to admire, we should not understand.” - WILLIAM CONGREVE, Love for Love


The plainest man who pays attention to women, will sometimes succeed as well as the handsomest man who does not.” - CHARLES CALEB COLTON, Lacon
 

mvninn
The attentions of a woman make me feel alive and vibrant with power. Like a crashing wave, her look and positive glance wash over my life with a feeling of satisfaction. What curse am I under? The power in her movement captivates me and stops my whole world to see her for a moment. On the miraculous hinge of change, all it takes is her reaction. If she likes me, pays me some attention, then peace and excitement in abundance. If she turns away, her rejection ignites a fire, inciting a riot of feelings in my body. Though heaven call and hell reach, nothing matters but her at that moment. There's no end to the amazing things that I'll put my body and mind through to see her smile. Not just a special her, but the one that has stopped my heart from proceeding with its mundane tasks. Dropped to my knees, not by an amazing model, rare and fleeting, but by that woman who holds herself with such confidence and sexuality that I find a smell of desire wafting across the room to bring me to my knees. I've stumbled down the steep paths of self-esteem, yet to know she's there, watching with interest, gives me the most incredible lift. This hawk takes to an empowering thermal desire and rises to heights unreachable when you, sweet woman, give me your smile.

01242013

Thursday, June 19, 2014

No One Can See

“It's just some instinct as old as fear: you seek the dark when you hide, you seek the light when the need to hide is gone. All the animals have it too. ("New York Blues")”
- Cornell Woolrich,
Night and Fear: A Centenary Collection of Stories 

 
i3 - ytimg

Flee my soul into the tide
Dive my soul into the night
No one can see

Float again, soon to see
The flavor of lust again in thee
No one can see

Something beyond calling to me
To gather my strength and give all esteem
No one can see

Hiding alone amongst the trees,
again I rejoice in the leaves
No one can see

Fly through the depths of life
in the caves of heavy solitude
No one can see

No one can see


12212010

Thursday, June 12, 2014

11 Things I Wish My Daughter To Know - Wisdom for my daughters

Athena, Goddess Of Wisdom

1)  Hold your head high, you are beautiful, every day, all the time. When a man asks you to change your appearance to be acceptable to him, walk away and be yourself. Develop your character inside. Beauty is deeper than an outward appearance.

2)  Respect yourself. In all you do and say, be a woman of class and honor. You will not get respect until you respect yourself.

3)  Follow your dreams, never let a relationship, whether it be friendship, or love, rob you of what you dream.

4)  Be independent, make sure of your own finances, health, and career. Always have a way of escape - financially, physically, and emotionally.

5)  Beware when you find yourself rescuing a man, whether financially or emotionally. They will use your motherly instincts to manipulate you and guilt to force your hand to provide for them.

6)  Every gift has a price, you may not see it at first, but it's there. Do not take lavish gifts from men, they will pressure you with it. Earn what you want on your own.

7)  When a man hits you, he WILL hit you again. You need to leave right away or know that you will get beat in the future. He will not change, you will suffer at his hand. There are no exceptions to this rule.

8)  Listen to your heart, when you feel something is wrong, something is. These are your gifts, empathy and insight.

9)  Precipitating a crisis to keep a man from leaving is a grave error. Getting pregnant, getting “sick”, using his secrets to threaten him, these will all backfire on you.

10)  Pick the things you will and won't deal with. Every man will have some quality that will drive you crazy, a fault that may or may not be forgivable. Choose what faults you will or won't deal with BEFORE you're in a relationship and stick to your decision.

11)  Do not cheat on your man, this can lead to great violence toward you and injury to your self esteem. There is never a happy ending to this, if he cheats with you he will cheat on you. If you're not satisfied with your man, leave. This can save your life.

These things will help keep you safe and happy, and will prevent your dad from having to kill someone...

Love you girls,
Pops

Related Posts:
11 Things I Wish My Son To Know
11 Things Observed In the Betrayal Of My Friend

Also published in Broowaha 

 12152011 

Sunday, June 8, 2014

Restless

“I am so tired - so tired of being of being whirled on through all these phases of my life, in which nothing abides by me, no creature, no place; it is like the circle in which the victims of earthly passion eddy continually.” ― Elizabeth Gaskell, North and South 


forensicate
 
Exhausted, breathless from every chase
Every path comes back on itself
I'm no farther down the road
Then when I first began
Lessons learned but hard to follow
I repeat them again on this crazy journey
I suppose the simplicity of what I am
Is clearest in the darkness of wandering
If I've found one thing that's sure and true
Peace is precious and hard to find
Harder to get and even harder to keep
If the wars on the outside put me in
The wars on the inside put me out
There is no rest and perhaps
That's the next step
This rest that evades me 
Will continue to hide
Until I find the peace
That cries in the night


Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Echo of Woods - Missing parts of me

“Their screams would echo through the house and reverberate against my eardrums until my mind would fracture. Years went by and with each fracture; I lost a piece of my soul until I became lost and empty inside.”
J.D. Stroube, Caged in Darkness


am-ende-2punkt0
Oh my lover, you left with me on lost paths, following my longings deeper, before I turned and saw, you're not there. The pieces I broke off to mark my direction back, you ate and then flew away, without any words, disappearing in hollows of echoing woods. I know my soul exists by the absence of those missing pieces. How can they be gone, slipped into an eternity of forgetfulness, or thoughtlessness, pushed there by denial and an intense effort to pretend you didn't happen, unless they were born at sometime in the messy afterbirth of a mind gone mad? If I let my thoughts take these updrafts of imagination, to soar above this wilderness of lore, I'll see you again. The pain is breathtaking, should I plunge back below to the feigned wellness of peace? Or perhaps, stay on these heated gestures of reaching and slip into the coldness of space to lose the oxygen of you, my light going out with tears and reluctant release.

06262013

 

Have you ever felt it? - Simple things, simply love

 "The road to finding 'the one' is paved with a bit of promiscuity." - Ryan Erickson


redbubble

Have you ever felt it?
I spent hours taking the little sunburned petals from your skin, 
removing them ever so carefully, tenderly,
utterly in heaven, a heaven which surely,
the birds are familiar...
Have you ever felt it?
I lose myself in thoughts of you, and me, together
in a slow dance that walks us through the gates of fantasy
all our senses lost in the moment, heart racing,
mind panting to keep up.
Have you ever felt it?
Bodies moving together, souls floating,
passion shared, in the heat forming a bond
that can never be broken, though you my lover 
are very far away.
Have you ever felt it?

11192011